NLC: No | Walkthrough: No | Temp License: Yes | Nursys: Yes
A license to practice nursing will be mailed to you approximately 21 business days after the application has been approved by PCS (Professional Credential Services) on behalf of the Board of Nursing.
Endorsement Application: $275.00
1. Read the statutes, rules, regulations, and policies
• You will have to attest that you completed this requirement on your online application.
2. Create an account online
3. Complete the application for Licensure by Endorsement online through PCS (Professional Credential Services)
4. Answer the questions related to the good moral character licensure requirements.
5. Upload a recent (within one year) 2” x 2” passport type color photo to your PCS account page
6. Official final transcripts
• The transcripts must be submitted directly to PCS from the nursing education program you graduated from in a sealed envelope.
• If you have multiple nursing degrees please submit the transcript from your first RN nursing diploma/degree program.
7. You need a valid United State Social Security Number to run a background check
• The DOR will use your SSN to ascertain whether you are in compliance with Massachusetts laws relating to taxes and child support.
8. Verification of all licenses in any state or jurisdiction (LPN/RN/APRN).
• If the state(s) participate in Nursys, you must complete the Nursys verification process, pay their fee and designate Massachusetts as the receipt of the verification.
• If the state(s) do not participate in Nursys, you must contact their state Boards directly for further instructions. You will need to send them the Verification of License form to complete and submit to the Massachusetts State Board of Nursing on your behalf.
9. The CGFNS evaluation report of foreign nursing education credentials must be available to PCS if you were educated outside the United States (if applicable).
10. Demonstrate English proficiency if you graduated from a nursing program whose language of instruction was not English (if applicable).
• Renewal of your license occurs every 2 years
• If you are licensed within the 3 month period preceding your birthday on even-numbered years you will be assigned an expiration date as your birthday on the even-numbered year following your next birthday. If your birthday falls 3 months or more during an even-numbered year in which you are licensed you will be required to renew your license during the same year on or before your birthday.
• 15 required contact hours
• You do not have to complete any continuing education requirements for your first renewal.
Important things to Know About Applying For Licensure for Endorsement
• The Massachusetts Board of Nursing does not require fingerprints in order to gain licensure through endorsement (reciprocity).
• A licensure application will remain current for one (1) year from the date of receipt by Professional Credential Services (PCS) pending completion of all nurse licensure requirements.