Use these resources to help your licensing journey.

NLC: Yes | Walkthrough: Yes | Temp License: Yes | Nursys: Yes

Temporary License

A temporary license can be issued the same day (Monday – Friday 9:00a – 3:00p). The temporary license is valid for 90 days.


Permanent License

Processed within 48 hours upon receipt of all required documents. The temporary license is valid for 90 days.



Endorsement Application: $100.00

Temporary License: $100.00

Complete Background Check: $39.25

LiveScan: $10.00

Application Process


1. Create a profile online

2. Submit an application for Licensure by Endorsement online

• Include the request for a temporary license by answering yes in the application.

3. Pay the associated fees (online & ahead of time)

4. Bring an original and valid government-issued photo identification (US passport or driver’s license)

5. Hand in completed and notarized Affidavit of Verification form

6. Hand in completed cover sheet (p. 6 in this packet)

7. Hand in completed authorization forms CBC1a & CBC1b (p. 7 & 8 in this packet)

8. You will have your fingerprints scanned on-site for the required Complete Background Check and will need to pay the associated fee in person.

9. The Louisiana Board of Nursing will look up your education and your RN licenses while you are there.


Temporary/Permanent License

The only difference between applying for a temporary license vs a permanent license is checking “yes” on question 30 of application.

1. Create a profile online

2. Submit an application for Licensure by Endorsement online with a request for a temporary license

• You must have a valid United States Social Security Number. Canadian Provinces are not accepted.

3. Pay the associated fees

4. Verify of original state license (where nursing board examination was taken, even if that RN license has expired) AND current state/ province/country from the jurisdiction of last employment at the time the endorsement application is submitted.

• If you are currently unemployed, official verification is required from the state Board of Nursing where you last worked or where your last RN license was issued. If your current/active RN license is also your original licensure by examination, then only one (1) official verification is required.

• If the state participates in Nursys, you must complete the Nursys verification process, pay their fee and designate Louisiana as the receipt of the verification.

• If the state does not participate in Nursys, you must contact their state Board directly for further instructions. You will need to send them a Verification of License form to complete and submit to the Louisiana State Board of Nursing on your behalf.

5. Submit an original, signed, notarized Affidavit of Verification sent directly to the Louisiana State Board of Nursing office via US postal mail.

6. Submit a Complete Background Check

• The Complete Background Check packet along with a copy of your receipt of payment must be submitted directly to the Louisiana

• If your local agency does not have FBI cards print this fingerprint form and bring it with you. *If the law enforcement agency utilizes an electronic scan system (‘LiveScan’), request they scan both hands for your fingerprints and print the first (1st) FBI card, then scan your hands again to print your fingerprints on the second (2nd) FBI card.

7. Upload a copy of a current/valid government-issued photo identification (US Residency Card or Green Card, passport or driver’s license).


Renewal License

Louisiana nursing licenses initially issued are calendar year licenses. Check your license expiration date carefully, as you are responsible for renewing before the expiration date to maintain an active license.

Subsequent renewals are every 2 years

• All licenses expire on January 31st if not successfully renewed online by the nurse prior to the expiration date.

• After December 31st at 11:59 pm (CST) a late fee of $50.00 is added for each license renewed. Continuing education requirement

• Full-time nurses (1600 practice hours) a minimum of 5 contact hours required

• Part-time nurses (160 practice hours) a minimum of 10 contact hours required